Diminished Value Claims: Missouri
If your vehicle was damaged in an accident in the state of Missouri and underwent repairs, its resale value is likely to be less than what it was before the crash. This loss in market value is known as diminished value, and it is recoverable in Missouri through a diminished value claim filed with the at-fault parties insurance company. If the other driver was uninsured, you can also file a diminished value claim with your own insurance company.
Summary – Missouri Diminished Value Claims
Statute of Limitations: 5 years
Third Party Diminished Value Claim: Yes
First Party Diminished Value Claim: No, most insurance policies will exclude diminished value
Missouri Property Damage Minimum Limits: $25,000 in coverage
Uninsured Motorist Coverage for Diminished Value: Yes, insurers are required to offer UMPD. $10,000 minimum in uninsured motorist property damage per accident. It includes coverage for hit and run drivers.
Underinsured Motorist Coverage for Diminished Value: No coverage
Missouri Small Claims Court Limit: $5,000, Attorney representation and appeals are permitted
Missouri Diminished Value Law
Missouri is a diminished value state. You’re legally entitled to the cost of repairs, loss of use, and diminished value compensation to cover the difference between the market value of the vehicle before the damage and its lower value after the repairs.
Rook v. John F. Oliver Trucking Co., S.W.2d 200 (Mo. App. 1977)
Allowable are the cost of repairs and the difference between the market value of the car before the collision and its value after the repairs. It would not constitute a double recovery for such a person to recover both for the cost of repairing the car and for the difference between the market values of the car before the collision and after the repairs.
How to File a Diminished Value Claim in Missouri
Step 1. Obtain proof of your car's diminished value.
The best way to prove your claim is to hire licensed, highly qualified, competent, and independent diminished value experts. The better the appraisal, the better the chance of the insurance company accepting the appraisal and paying the claim faster and for more money.
Step 2. Submit your documentation (diminished value appraisal) and demand letter for review.
The ideal time is right after you get your vehicle repaired. The sooner you file your diminished value claim, the better. Typically, if the accident wasn’t your fault, you would file a diminished value claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company.
It’s covered under their property damage liability.
Step 3. Settle your claim.
The role of the claims adjuster is to negotiate the lowest possible settlement for the insurance company. They will either accept your claim, offer a lower settlement, or deny the claim.
To receive the highest settlement, submit as much supporting documentation as possible and negotiate until the adjuster makes their final offer.
We can assist you with your diminished value claim in Missouri. If you have any questions, please call us at 704-209-7629 or submit a request for a free estimate.